Skip to main content

How do I add a Plan to a location?

This article details how a plan can be added to a location

This article is only relevant to Project Admins, as this is the only Project role that can add, remove or edit plans for a project's location(s).

You can add a plan to a location which will open a document when a certain location is selected for a project.

A ‘Plan’ usually means a General Assembly Floor Plan. You can now create permit zones on a plan in SiteAssist. Once a Plan is published, other team members will be able to raise permits in any zones that have been created by a Project Admin.

You will need to link a plan to a location, so If you want to see how to add a location to a project, you can read our article on how to add locations to a project. 📄


Adding a plan to a location?

If you wish to add a plan to a location, you can do so by logging into the web application. You must then:

1a. Click 'Projects'

1b. Click the project you wish to add a location plan for

2a. Click 'Site Locations'

3a. Click the 3 dots to bring up the actions menu

3b. Select ‘Upload plan’ in the actions menu located on the right-hand side of your chosen location

4a. Click Upload PDF to choose a plan to upload

4b. Once a plan has been chosen from your device, you will need to click 'Upload' to confirm that you wish to upload your selected PDF

4c. Once a plan has been uploaded, you can click 'Proceed' to create zones; or you can click 'Exit' to come back to it another time

5a. When looking at the plan, you will see a selection of drawing tools, these are for creating zones

5b. As you create squares, circles, or polygons you will see that you can change the colour and also rename each zone in the text box

5c. If you use the polygon tool, click on the tick icon to finish/close the new shape. If you wish to delete the shape you have drawn, you can click the bin icon.

If you wish to save your plan before publishing it, you can click the 'Save' button. This will allow you to come back and edit your zones until you are ready to publish the plan.

You can also collapse the sidebar for more space to work in

6a. Once you have created all of your zones, you can select ‘Publish’

6b. You will need to confirm that you wish to publish your zones to your project.

Note: You must ensure there are no overlapping zones before you do this

You will see your published plan in the locations hierarchy

You can also view this plan in the new ‘View Plans’ tab in the main menu


I have some questions or wish to leave some feedback regarding this

If you have any further questions or wish to leave any feedback, please contact us directly by emailing help@siteassist.co or by speaking to us via live chat on the mobile application or the web platform. 😁

Did this answer your question?