To create and manage permits, people must first be added to your project.
There are different role types available on the platform that allow different people to perform different actions.
Project Admins can add people as either Users, Project Viewers or Project Admins, and Users can also be permitted to add other Users.
So which user roles are available?
This section has a brief description of the actions that are available to each Project role. For a full breakdown, please click here.
👨💻 Project Admin
Project Admins have full project rights and can see all of a project's data on both the web and the mobile app. This role may be held by a Site / Project Manager.
They can:
Add or remove other Project Admins and Users
Manage what Users and Project Admins are allowed to do
Access everything on the project
👨🔧 User
This is the most common role on SiteAssist. A Project Admin decides which actions each User can take. They may be a Responsible Person, Engineer, Environmental Advisor, and so on.
Users usually work from the phone or tablet app to:
Request permits
Receive permits that have been issued to them
Declare work as complete
Perform permit actions (such as briefings and site checks)
👷♀️ Project Viewer
This is a view-only role. People added as Project Viewers can only view Project information.
ⓘ When someone is invited to a project, they receive an automated email invitation.
If they have not been invited to SiteAssist already, to get started, they'll need to:
Create their account by following the steps in the email invitation OR sign in using Single-sign on (if this has been set up for your Company)Set up their profile
New to SiteAssist & not using Single Sign-On? Send them this article to show them how to log in.
How do I invite people to a Project?
To invite a new user to a project you must login to the web platform and then:
2. This then opens up the navigation options for that project. Once open, click the cog icon '⚙️' next to the project title to access the 'Project Settings'
3. Click the 'Users' option in the left-hand side menu
4a. Click the 'Actions' button and then select the 'Invite User to Project' option
4b. Input the details of the person you wish to add to the project
4c. Click in the 'User Type' and 'Project Permissions' boxes to select the invitees' role/ permissions
4d. Once you have selected their permissions, you may select the Authorisation group(s) that you wish to add them to
5. Once you have filled out their details, selected their Permissions, and (if required) selected the Authorisation Groups they should be added to, click 'Invite' to send the new User an Invite.
ⓘ If you can only add them as a User, this is because you only have permission to invite new Users. Additionally, if you can't invite them to an Authorisation Group, this is because you do not have permission to add people to that Authorisation Groups.
How do I change someone's User Type?
To change an existing user's role, you must log into the web platform, go to the projects page and select your project, click 'Project Settings', click 'Users' in the left-hand side menu, and then:
1a. Click the 3 dots next to a person's information
1b. Click 'Edit Project Permissions'
2a. Click the 'User Type' and 'Project Permissions' boxes to change their permissions.
2b. Click the 'Authorisation Groups' to add or edit the Authorisation groups they have been added to.
3. Click 'Save'
How do I remove someone from my Project?
You cannot remove an existing User from a project but can instead disable them. This will stop that User from performing any further actions on a project, but they will still be shown on the 'Users' page for a project.
To disable a user, you must log into the web platform, go to the projects page and select your project. Once done, click 'Project Settings', then 'Users' in the left-hand side menu, and then:
1a. Click the 3 dots next to a person's information
1b. Click 'Disable User'
2. Click the 'Disable User' button to confirm that you wish to disable the User
How do I reactivate someone's account on my Project?
You can reactivate a previously disabled User's account from a project. This will enable that User to perform actions again on a project (relative to their role and permissions).
To reactivate a user's account, you must log into the web platform, go to the projects page and select your project. Once done, click 'Project Settings', then click 'Users' in the left-hand side menu, and then:
1a. Click the 3 dots next to a person's information
1b. Click 'Reactivate User'
2. Click the 'Confirm' button to confirm that you wish to reactivate the User
I still have some questions or wish to leave some feedback regarding this
If you have any further questions or wish to leave any feedback, please contact us directly by emailing help@siteassist.co or by speaking to us via live chat on the mobile application or the web platform. 😁






