Skip to main content

How do I brief participants on my permit?

This article outlines how a participant can be added/ briefed to an Open permit

As a Permit Holder or a participant on a permit (depending on your participant role), you can add participants to a permit and brief them from the mobile application.


How do I brief participants on my permit?

You can only add participants via the mobile/tablet application.

You can add a participant to a permit by logging into the SiteAssist app and by following the below steps:

1. Tap on a Permit that is in the 'Open' or 'PreStart' status

2. Tap on 'Actions'

3. Tap on 'Add Participants'

You will then see a screen where you can add participants, but you may need to perform some actions before you can begin the briefing:

4a. [Optional] Briefings for certain permit types may require you to capture your location before you can begin the briefing. Tap the '+' next to 'Location' to do this

5a. [Optional] Briefings for certain permit types may require you to take a live photo of where you did the briefing. Tap the '+' next to 'Proof Photo' to do this.

6a. To begin adding a participant, tap the '+' next to 'Participants'

4b. Once you have tapped the '+' button for your location [4a.], you will then be shown a map of where you currently are. If the permit required a location to be identified using What3Words or a Geofenced area to be drawn on the map, it will also show this, so you can see where you are relative to the identified or drawn area. Tapping 'Check-in' captures your location

5b. Once you have tapped the '+' button for a photo [5a.], your device's camera will launch and you will need to take an image. Tapping the camera button takes the image.

Once you have tapped the '+' button next to 'Participants' [6a.], you will then be asked which type of participant you wish to add.

6b. Tap the role that you wish to add

Note: Different roles will have different disclaimers and may be able to perform different actions on your permit.

6c. Once you have selected your role, tap 'Next'

7a. Here you can switch between selecting a 'New User' and a User who was 'Previously Added'

  • The 'New User' option allows you to select users who have SiteAssist accounts and who have been invited to your project as well as users who do not have a SiteAssist account [8a.]

  • The 'Previously Added' option allows you to select users whom you have added to any previously raised permit (Regardless of whether they have a SiteAssist account or not)

7b. Here, you can see the list of users available for the tab you have selected (tabs being 'New User' or 'Previously Added'). You can tap someone's name to select them, which will allow you to later collect their signature (you can also type their name in the search bar to find them quickly)

8a. Tap 'Add External User' to add someone to your permit who does not have a SiteAssist account (this option is only available on the 'New User' tab)

8b. When you are adding an external user, you will need to input their first name, last name and company.

8c. [Optional] After you have input an external users' information, you can tap this button to 'Add Another User'; or

8d. You can tap 'Done' to confirm the people you have already added on this page. This will bring you back to the 'Select Participants' screen.

On this screen, you can see a tick next to the people who are going to be briefed

9. Tap 'Confirm'

Once you have captured your location (if required); have added all of the required proof Photos (if required); and have added all the required participants, you will then need to brief them.

Note: You can add more than 1 proof photo if required by clicking the '+' icon next to the 'Proof Photo' text below. You can remove your location or any participants that have been added by clicking the '-' button next to each section or can remove images by tapping 'Select'.

10. Tap 'Next' to begin collecting the added participants' signatures.

11a. The person whose name is shown will then need to be physically handed your phone or tablet. They will need to tap 'OK' when they wish to continue

11b. They will then need to read the disclaimer and then draw in their signature (they may need to scroll down if the disclaimer is long)

11c. Once they have provided their signature, they will then need to tap 'Submit' at the bottom of the page.

Each added participant will then need to perform steps 11a, 11b, and 11c until they have all been briefed.

Note: This is how you can perform briefings throughout the life of your permit. Once you have added participants, you will be able to quickly select those who have been briefed in the past on the 'Add Participants & Information' page (the page shown on steps 4a, 5a, 6a and 10 above)


How does a participant perform permit actions?

Participants who have been added to a permit (as an existing SiteAssist User) may be able to perform certain actions. The actions available to a participant are:

Note: The actions available for participants vary depending on the role and the permit.


How do I remove a participant from an Open permit?

It is possible for a participant to be removed from an open permit. This will stop them from being re-briefed and will stop them from taking any permit actions (if the role they were added as could perform permit actions)

To do this, you must log in to the SiteAssist mobile or tablet application and then:

1. On the homepage, tap 'Permits'

2. Find and tap the relevant permit

3. Tap the 'People' option on a permits page

4a. Tap the name of the participant you wish to remove

4b. Tap 'Remove Participant'

4c. Tap 'Remove Participant' again to confirm that you wish to remove the person from the permit as a participant.

Keep in mind that any action that has already been taken on the permit by the removed participant has already been recorded and will still be shown.


I still have some questions or wish to leave some feedback regarding this

If you have any further questions or wish to leave any feedback, please contact us directly by emailing help@siteassist.co or by speaking to us via live chat on the mobile application or the web platform. 😁

Did this answer your question?