Skip to main content

Creating & managing an Authorisation Group for permits & checklists

This article outlines what an Authorisation group is and how they can be created and managed

If you have invited Authorised Persons to your project you will have to create and add them to an Authorisation Group in order to give them approval permissions.

An Authorisation Group will define what types of permits a person who approves permits is authorised to issue/approve.

For example, you may have a person who should only approve Permits to Dig, whilst another person should be able to approve Hot works permits.

If an Authorisation Group is made, a User or Project Admin will need to be added to an Authorisation Group to be able to approve/ issue the permit(s) specified in the Authorisation Group.

The permissions available in Authorisation groups are:

  • The creation/ raising of a permit or checklist

  • The ability to review extension requests

  • The ability to cancel permits

  • The ability to approve transfer requests

  • The ability to resume suspended permits

  • The ability to approve a Permit (this can be specified for each approval layer)

  • The Issuing of a Permit

  • The ability to sign off permits

  • The ability to specify who can be briefed in a role for a permit or checklist

Authorisation Groups can only be created on the web platform. There are other permissions available for Registers, Tasks, etc., but these are covered in the relevant article.

Note: Project admins can perform all actions on any permit by default, but if any Authorisation group is made, they will then need to be put into the relevant group to perform the relevant action(s). ☑️


Creating an Authorisation group


To create an Authorisation Group, you must first log into the SiteAssist web application and then:

1a. click the 'Projects' page

1b. Select your Project

2. Once you have selected your project, click 'Settings'

2a. Click on 'Authorisation Groups' in the left-hand side menu tab

2b. Click on 'Create Group'

3a. Click in the 'Group Name' box to input the name of your Authorisation group

3b. Click 'Submit'

You will now see your Auth Group has been created and it shows in the list of all of the authorisation groups that have already been created.


Adding Users to an Authorisation Group

You can click on an existing auth group to edit it or you can click the red bin icon next to the corresponding Auth Group to delete it.

Once you have selected an Authorisation Group, you will be presented with the 'Members' screen, where you will be able to specify who is in the group.

4a. Click the 'Add Member' button to add someone to an Auth Group

4b. Click in the search box and type in a name or email to look for a User or Project Admin, who you would like to add to the Authorisation group

4c. Once a Project Admin or Users account shows, click the 'OK' button [4d.] next to their name & email address to add them to the Auth Group

4d. Click 'OK' to add them to the group

Now that you have added members to the Auth group, you will need to specify what the people added to the Auth group can do for each permit type.

Note: This is only required if the Auth Group does not already have permissions for any permits or checklists. If your Auth group already has its permissions set, you do not need to continue passed this point.


Adding permissions to an Authorisation group

5a. Click 'Permissions' to see the permissions tab, where you can see all of the permissions that you can set for an Auth Group

5b. Click 'Add Permission'

You will now see the Type of permissions you can set. These are:

  • Project - where you can set project permissions. The permissions available are:

    • Manage Members - this will allow any Users in this auth Group to add other people to this Auth Group. If this is off, then only Project Admins can add or remove people from this Auth Group.

  • Permit - where you can set permit permissions. You will first need to select the Permit type that you wish to set the permissions for and then the permissions available for a permit type are:

    • Raise Permit - this will limit who can raise this permit type. If this is unchecked, then anyone who has been added to your project as a User or Project Admin will be able to raise this permit type, but once checked, only those in this Auth Group (or another Auth group with this permission checked) will be able to raise this permit type.

    • Review Extension - this will allow those in this Auth Group to review extension requests for this permit type.

    • Approve Transfer - this will allow those in this Auth Group to review transfer requests (this is only available if the permit type requires approval for transfers).

    • Resume After Suspension - this will allow those in this Auth Group to review permit resumption requests for this permit type.

    • Approve - this will allow those in this Auth Group to approve this permit type. Note that not all permit types require approval and that some require multiple approvals. For those that require multiple approval, you can specify whether this Auth Group can approve a single stage of approval or if they can approve multiple/ all stages (this means different Auth Groups can be set up to approve different stages of approval)

    • Final Sign Off - this will allow those in this Auth Group to perform the final sign off for this permit type. Note that not all permit types require final sign off and that some require multiple final sign off. For those that require multiple final sign off, you can specify whether this Auth Group can approve a single stage of sign off or if they can approve multiple/ all stages.

  • Checklist - where you can set checklist permissions. You will first need to select the Checklist Template that you wish to set the permissions for and then the permissions available for a permit template are:

    • Raise Checklist - this will limit who can raise this checklist type. If this is unchecked, then anyone who has been added to your project as a User or Project Admin will be able to raise this checklist type, but once checked, only those in this Auth Group (or another Auth group with this permission checked) will be able to raise this checklist.

  • Register - where you can set register permissions. You will first need to select the Register Template that you wish to set the permissions for and then the permissions available for a Register are:

    • Assign Properties - these will be different depending on the Register type, but this will allow those in this Auth Group to assign properties in the corresponding field

    • Add Item - this will allow you to add items to the selected Register

    • Update Item - this will allow you to update the selected Registers items

    • Import via CSV - this will allow you to import a CSV's information onto a register

    • Download CSV - this will allow you to export a CSV of the

Once you have set the permissions for an Auth Group, you will need to click 'Save'.

6a. Once saved, you will be able to see the Users that are in that Auth Group by clicking 'Members'.

6b. And you will be able to see the permissions that have been set up for your Auth Group by clicking 'Permissions'.

In the below example, this Auth Group has permissions for the project, a permit and a checklist.


I still have some questions or wish to leave some feedback regarding this

If you have any further questions or wish to leave any feedback, please contact us directly by emailing help@siteassist.co or by speaking to us via live chat on the mobile application or the web platform. 😁

Did this answer your question?